BEING LOVE

Here is a story from Ram Dass

Some years ago I put out a set of records called “Love, Serve, Remember.” The records – which had music, readings from the Gospel of John, and all kinds of neat things – came in an album with a beautiful booklet with text and pictures. It was a wonderful package, and we sold it by mail order for about $4.50.

I showed the album to my father. Dad was a wealthy Boston lawyer – a conservative Republican, a capitalist, and, at the time, the President of a railroad. He looked over the album and said, “Great job here! But, gee, you know – four and a half dollars? You could probably sell this for ten, maybe fifteen dollars, don’t you think?”

I said, “Yeah, I know.”

“Would fewer people buy it if it were more expensive?” he asked.

“No,” I replied, “probably the same number would buy it.”

”Well I don’t understand, then,” he pressed on. “You could sell it for at least ten, and you’re selling it for $4.50? What’s wrong, are you against capitalism or profit or something?”

I tried to figure out how to explain to him how our approaches differed. I said, “Dad didn’t you just try a law case for Uncle Henry?”

”Yeah,” he replied, “and it was a damned tough case. I spent a lot of time in the law library.”

I asked, “Did you win the case?”

And he answered, “Yeah, I won it.”

Now, my father was a very successful attorney, and he charged fees that were commensurate with his reputation. So I continued. “Well, I bet you charged him an arm and a leg for that one.”

Dad was indignant at the suggestion. “What, are you out of your mind? That’s Uncle Henry – I couldn’t charge him.”

“Well, that’s my problem,” I said. “If you find anyone who isn’t Uncle Henry, show me, and I’ll rip them off.”

Source |Ram Dass on awaken

PONDER AND CONSIDER

Ram Dass reflects on this story:

The point I was trying to make is that when you see the Beloved all around you, everyone is family and everywhere is love. When I allow myself to really see the beauty of another being, to see the inherent beauty of soul manifesting itself, I feel the quality of love in that being’s presence. It doesn’t matter what we’re doing. We could be talking about our cats because we happen to be picking out cat food in the supermarket, or we simply could be passing each other on the sidewalk. When we are being love, we extend outward an environment that allows people to act in different, more loving and peaceful ways than they are used to behaving. Not only does it allow them to be more loving, it encourages them to be so while teaching them how to be so.

Author: philipchircop

I'm a Jesuit from Malta, an artist at heart and madly in love with all things beautiful and soulful: music, painting, sculpture, photography, film, theatre, poetry, good company, good food, good wine and more. I believe that beauty is a wonderful entry into the mystery of the God “whose centre is everywhere and whose circumference is nowhere.” God can be sensed in all things if and when we engage in a long, loving look at the real that surrounds us. I consider myself a seeker with bottomless curiosity, an eternal student of life, exploring fresh and creative ways to proclaim the Good News in the hope of helping fellow pilgrims and seekers to embrace real and radical changes that will lead to conversion and transformation.

One thought on “BEING LOVE”

  1. Ram Das is good writer, in fact, I have one of his books “How May I Help you”. My comment on this post is don’t rip off anybody, Uncle Henry or anyone. There is always Karma.

    Like

Leave a Reply

